Let’s Take a Look at the FIFA eSports Scene

Few video games have captured players’ imaginations quite like FIFA. The football simulation game has been a hit with gamers since its debut in 1993, and its popularity has grown even more in recent years.

The FIFA eWorld Cup was created in 2017 as the official World Cup event for the EA Sports FIFA series. But what makes FIFA so popular and unique?

One of the things that makes FIFA unique is its ability to bring the excitement of real-life soccer matches to players’ homes. Whether you’re controlling teams of superstars or playing as your favorite player, FIFA provides an immersive and realistic experience that millions of people worldwide love.

Another thing that makes FIFA such a success is its competitive scene. Its eSports tournament draws some of the best FIFA players from all over the globe, and watching them compete is a thrilling experience.

With millions of dollars up for grabs, the eWorld Cup is one of the most prestigious competitions in eSports. Even more exciting, some of the world’s top footballers, such as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, have even lent their names to the event.

Whether you’re a casual player or a diehard fan, there’s something for everyone in FIFA. It’s no wonder the game continues to be one of the most popular video games year after year.

Have you ever wondered what goes into setting up a FIFA competitive league? Here are a few details as to how EA works to operate FIFA as a competitive eSport.

Understanding FIFA’s General Gameplay and Competitive Ruleset

Understanding FIFA's General Gameplay and Competitive Ruleset

FIFA is a digital sports simulation that follows the standard rules of soccer. In FIFA, one player controls every aspect of the team. The game is designed to be a realistic representation of real-life soccer. As such, FIFA adheres to the same rule sets as actual soccer. Some general insights about FIFA gameplay include the following:

  • One player controls every aspect of the team in each sport.
  • A key feature of each game is the development of artificial intelligence to control players, not gamers. Individual players can also use AI to sharpen their skills.
  • The time limits for the games are shorter to be more fast-paced and enjoyable. This usually means that FIFA games will last 6 minutes instead of 12 minutes.
  • Manager/Franchise modes allow for other ways to enjoy the simulation aspect of each game.

Qualifying for the eWorld Cup Finals via Console Playoffs


The traditional way that FIFA players would compete to play in the eWorld Cup Finals would be to play via their Xbox One or PlayStation 4 console in the annual playoffs. Only the best 16 players were selected to compete in the eWorld Cup finals, so the competition was fierce.

FIFA Global Series


In 2022 and 2023, EA Sports shifted the qualifying competition to focus on the FIFA Global Series. This series of tournaments are hosted throughout the year and result in a pool of 128 players reaching the FIFA Global Series playoffs.

The FIFA Global Series is the most prestigious competitive gaming event in the world of professional FIFA. The FGS connects the top FIFA players from all over the planet in a battle for the title of FIFA World Champion.

Players must battle against one another for many months in regional competitions season. After the dust has settled, the top players in the world will compete in the FGS Playoffs.

How to Qualify for FIFA Global Series


To be eligible to compete in the FIFA Global Series, you need to go through the qualification processes.

I. Register

Participants must first register for the FIFA Global Series and agree to all the rules of the competition. You can check out the correct registration dates on the eSports Website. No player will be accepted after the expiry of the registration period.

II. Be a verified FUT champion

Upon registration, you must show that you are an elite player by qualifying for the Elite 1 rank in FUT champions. You must win at least 27 games in a weekend League to become a verified FUT champion. Once you’re verified, you can participate in Online Regional Cups for the entire season.

III. Take Part in Online Regional Cups

During the season, you’ll compete in Online Regional Cups. These are head-to-head elimination competitions played three to five times in different regions. Players earn points and the top-ranked qualify for the Regional Playoffs at the end of the season.

 IV. Qualify for the Regional Playoffs

Players that come out on top of the Global Series Rankings in their respective regions qualify for the Regional Playoffs, where they battle it out to be crowned the best FIFA players.

Events to participate in

During the season, FIFA players participate in different events. Some of these events include:

a. Online Regional Cups

Each cup features 1,024 FUT champions. The verified participants battle it out in double-elimination knockout format, with top players earning points.

b. Leagues

There are more than 30 leagues to compete for titles in collaboration with the respective clubs. Top teams in each league get a chance to participate in the Regional Playoffs once the season is over.

c. Regional Playoffs

This is the ultimate qualification stage for teams at the end of the season. Top teams in each region get a place to battle it out in the Regional Playoffs for a chance to win the coveted Regional Champion Title.

Closing Thoughts

Closing Thoughts

FIFA is an exciting game for both sports and soccer lovers. While most people play the quick modes, the game offers much more competition and more prizes than you can imagine. I hope you enjoyed this look at the FIFA eSports scene.

As someone who enjoys playing FIFA competitively, I always seek new tips and strategies to improve my game. If you have any additional information to share, please leave it in the comments below. Thanks for reading!